
As you can see, Lucca is a truly delightful city that offers unique sights and emotions to those who visit. It should be visited as soon as possible, perhaps during one of these spring weekends.
However, it is necessary to mention the symbol monument of Lucca, the Piazza dell’Anfiteatro is one of the most beautiful in Tuscany, with its circular shape and colorful buildings that overlook it, as well as a must-see destination for those visiting the city of walls.
The stunning square, unique in its kind, is built on the remains of the ancient Roman amphitheater, which was constructed in the 1st or 2nd century A.D. outside the walls of the time, near the north gate, so that it was easily accessible to spectators coming from the surrounding area.
The construction of elliptical shape consisted of two superimposed orders of 55 arches and could hold up to ten thousand people.


Climbing the walls behind San Frediano, one can admire the splendid gardens of Villa Pfanner from above. The baroque garden, created in the early 18th century and attributed to the great architect Filippo Juvarra (1678-1736), is one of the most fascinating examples of an Italian garden in Tuscany. With classical statues, lemons in basins, flower beds, and a dramatic central fountain, it represents an ideal place for a walk in beauty. To access the palace, one ascends a magnificent staircase, which was the film set for one of the most famous scenes from The Marquis of Grillo. Inside the palace, there is also a frescoed museum, featuring historical collections, period furnishings, and medical-surgical instruments that belonged to Dr. Pietro Pfanner.
Continuing our walk through the characteristic streets of Lucca, we arrive at the Church of San Michele, which is located on the site of the ancient Roman Forum and has always been the center of the city, a place for meetings and commercial exchanges. Until 1370, the Greater Council, the highest legislative body of Lucca, met here. The exterior of the church is characterized by a very tall facade that rises isolated above the roof and is rich in sculptures and inlays, many of which were redone in the 19th century. The statue of the archangel Saint Michael stands out, located at the highest point of the church and reaching 4 meters in height. Legend has it that a huge diamond is set in the ring on the angel’s finger, and in the evening, from a specific point in the square, it is possible to catch a glimpse of its sparkle.
Walking down an alley in front of the church, you find yourself in a small square where there is the birthplace statue of the composer Giacomo Puccini, and nearby is his birthplace, now turned into a museum. A must-visit for music lovers, as here you can understand many inspirations present in his works, as well as see original scores, stage costumes, clothing, and furnishings of the maestro, along with numerous photos and awards he received.

As you can see, Lucca is a truly delightful city that offers unique sights and emotions to those who visit. It should be visited as soon as possible, perhaps during one of these spring weekends.
However, it is necessary to mention the symbol monument of Lucca, the Piazza dell’Anfiteatro is one of the most beautiful in Tuscany, with its circular shape and colorful buildings that overlook it, as well as a must-see destination for those visiting the city of walls.
The stunning square, unique in its kind, is built on the remains of the ancient Roman amphitheater, which was constructed in the 1st or 2nd century A.D. outside the walls of the time, near the north gate, so that it was easily accessible to spectators coming from the surrounding area.
The construction of elliptical shape consisted of two superimposed orders of 55 arches and could hold up to ten thousand people.


Continuing through the characteristic streets of Lucca, you arrive at the Guinigi Tower, a rooftop garden, a public lounge from which to admire the entire city and the Lucchese countryside from above. Built in the second half of the 14th century, it is a symbol of the city of Lucca. It is named after the wealthy and powerful family of merchants and bankers from Lucca, who owned it continuously until 1968, the year in which the heirs of the family donated it to the city in fulfillment of a testamentary bequest.
Continuing our walk, we arrive at San Frediano, which is mentioned for the first time in a document from the year 685 as basilica Longobardorum.
It gained significant importance starting from the second half of the 12th century, when it became one of the most important centers for the spread of the Gregorian liturgical reform.
Particularly striking is the mosaic from the late 13th century located on the facade, extremely rare in Romanesque architecture (in Tuscany, the only other facade decorated with a mosaic is that of S. Miniato al Monte in Florence). It depicts Christ the Redeemer ascending to heaven in a mandorla carried by two angels. Among the Apostles, the figure of the Virgin is missing, cut away by the modern window. The style of the work is distinctly Byzantine and can be attributed to the Lucchese School of the Berlinghieri.

Climbing the walls behind San Frediano, one can admire the splendid gardens of Villa Pfanner from above. The baroque garden, created in the early 18th century and attributed to the great architect Filippo Juvarra (1678-1736), is one of the most fascinating examples of an Italian garden in Tuscany. With classical statues, lemons in basins, flower beds, and a dramatic central fountain, it represents an ideal place for a walk in beauty. To access the palace, one ascends a magnificent staircase, which was the film set for one of the most famous scenes from The Marquis of Grillo. Inside the palace, there is also a frescoed museum, featuring historical collections, period furnishings, and medical-surgical instruments that belonged to Dr. Pietro Pfanner.
Continuing our walk through the characteristic streets of Lucca, we arrive at the Church of San Michele, which is located on the site of the ancient Roman Forum and has always been the center of the city, a place for meetings and commercial exchanges. Until 1370, the Greater Council, the highest legislative body of Lucca, met here. The exterior of the church is characterized by a very tall facade that rises isolated above the roof and is rich in sculptures and inlays, many of which were redone in the 19th century. The statue of the archangel Saint Michael stands out, located at the highest point of the church and reaching 4 meters in height. Legend has it that a huge diamond is set in the ring on the angel’s finger, and in the evening, from a specific point in the square, it is possible to catch a glimpse of its sparkle.
Walking down an alley in front of the church, you find yourself in a small square where there is the birthplace statue of the composer Giacomo Puccini, and nearby is his birthplace, now turned into a museum. A must-visit for music lovers, as here you can understand many inspirations present in his works, as well as see original scores, stage costumes, clothing, and furnishings of the maestro, along with numerous photos and awards he received.

As you can see, Lucca is a truly delightful city that offers unique sights and emotions to those who visit. It should be visited as soon as possible, perhaps during one of these spring weekends.
However, it is necessary to mention the symbol monument of Lucca, the Piazza dell’Anfiteatro is one of the most beautiful in Tuscany, with its circular shape and colorful buildings that overlook it, as well as a must-see destination for those visiting the city of walls.
The stunning square, unique in its kind, is built on the remains of the ancient Roman amphitheater, which was constructed in the 1st or 2nd century A.D. outside the walls of the time, near the north gate, so that it was easily accessible to spectators coming from the surrounding area.
The construction of elliptical shape consisted of two superimposed orders of 55 arches and could hold up to ten thousand people.

Another gem of Tuscany
When talking about Tuscany, certainly the first excellence that comes to mind is Florence, but this region has other cities to discover, one of which is certainly Lucca.
It is located in the Tuscany region, on the banks of the Serchio River. It is known for its Renaissance walls, which surround the historic center and are complete, as well as for its cobblestone streets. The wide tree-lined walks atop these 16th and 17th-century bastions are very popular, both for walking and cycling, and are greatly loved by its citizens, who also use them for sports.
Officially of Roman origins, but with probable earlier settlements, Lucca, a city of merchants and weavers, maintained its autonomy as an independent state for several centuries until 1799 when the ancient Republic was supplanted following the French conquest by Napoleon’s troops, giving rise to the Principality of Lucca and subsequently to the Bourbon Duchy of Lucca. Finally, it became part of the Grand Duchy of Tuscany. Its history has also always been characterized by the rivalry with Pisa, its “uncomfortable” yet necessary neighbor.
But now let’s take a look at the highlights of this Italian gem.
The Cathedral of San Martino is the cathedral of Lucca. According to tradition, it was founded by San Frediano in the 6th century. This monumental building has gone through three phases: the Romanesque reconstruction, the Gothic phase, and the Renaissance renewal.
But what strikes the most is undoubtedly the facade, facing west, a masterpiece of late Romanesque Lucca, which consists of two parts: the lower part is a portico-narthex built in the first half of the 12th century, open with three large arches, of which the one on the right is narrower due to the proximity of the pre-existing bell tower. This architectural element, practically a unique example in Italy, recalls similar French and Lombard-Ravenna examples.
The porch, whose construction was coordinated by Lombardo, a worker from the cathedral, contains a varied and important sculptural decoration created between approximately 1233 and 1260, mostly by Guido Bigarelli and his workshop. The most accredited chronological sequence indicates that the reliefs depicting the stories of the life of Saint Martin and the Cycle of the Months (on either side of the main portal) were created first, between approximately 1233 and 1238, and are attributed to a Lombard master known as the Master of Saint Martin.
The portico was often occupied by currency exchange booths, which dealt with the numerous pilgrims passing through Lucca, one of the main stops on the Via Francigena route. A monumental inscription reminds the money changers of their commitment not to defraud customers and invites the latter to trust in the protection of the cathedral clergy and Saint Martin.
On one of the stones of the pillar attached to the base of the bell tower, a labyrinth is carved alongside an inscription that recalls the myth of Theseus and Ariadne. The type of labyrinth, due to its similarity to the majestic one on the floor of the cathedral of Chartres, positioned next to one of the main doors of the cathedral, seems to serve as a portal to a deep reflection on the journey of the human soul towards redemption.
Inside, one cannot certainly forget the presence of numerous valuable paintings, among which is undoubtedly the Last Supper by Jacopo Tintoretto and the presence of one of the oldest crucifixes in Europe, The Holy Face, that is the wooden crucifix that tradition holds was made by the Pharisee Nicodemus in the image of Jesus, which is venerated with great devotion by all Lucchese people, even non-believers. Also in the sacristy, there is the funerary monument dedicated to Ilaria del Carretto, created by the sculptor Jacopo della Quercia between 1406 and 1408. It depicts the noblewoman from Lucca, wife of Paolo Guinigi, to whom, having died in childbirth at a very young age, the marble sarcophagus was dedicated. The sarcophagus depicts the girl in a sleeping pose, richly dressed and lying on a catafalque decorated with cherubs holding the stone. At the feet of the young girl lies a small dog, a symbol of marital fidelity.

Continuing through the characteristic streets of Lucca, you arrive at the Guinigi Tower, a rooftop garden, a public lounge from which to admire the entire city and the Lucchese countryside from above. Built in the second half of the 14th century, it is a symbol of the city of Lucca. It is named after the wealthy and powerful family of merchants and bankers from Lucca, who owned it continuously until 1968, the year in which the heirs of the family donated it to the city in fulfillment of a testamentary bequest.
Continuing our walk, we arrive at San Frediano, which is mentioned for the first time in a document from the year 685 as basilica Longobardorum.
It gained significant importance starting from the second half of the 12th century, when it became one of the most important centers for the spread of the Gregorian liturgical reform.
Particularly striking is the mosaic from the late 13th century located on the facade, extremely rare in Romanesque architecture (in Tuscany, the only other facade decorated with a mosaic is that of S. Miniato al Monte in Florence). It depicts Christ the Redeemer ascending to heaven in a mandorla carried by two angels. Among the Apostles, the figure of the Virgin is missing, cut away by the modern window. The style of the work is distinctly Byzantine and can be attributed to the Lucchese School of the Berlinghieri.

Climbing the walls behind San Frediano, one can admire the splendid gardens of Villa Pfanner from above. The baroque garden, created in the early 18th century and attributed to the great architect Filippo Juvarra (1678-1736), is one of the most fascinating examples of an Italian garden in Tuscany. With classical statues, lemons in basins, flower beds, and a dramatic central fountain, it represents an ideal place for a walk in beauty. To access the palace, one ascends a magnificent staircase, which was the film set for one of the most famous scenes from The Marquis of Grillo. Inside the palace, there is also a frescoed museum, featuring historical collections, period furnishings, and medical-surgical instruments that belonged to Dr. Pietro Pfanner.
Continuing our walk through the characteristic streets of Lucca, we arrive at the Church of San Michele, which is located on the site of the ancient Roman Forum and has always been the center of the city, a place for meetings and commercial exchanges. Until 1370, the Greater Council, the highest legislative body of Lucca, met here. The exterior of the church is characterized by a very tall facade that rises isolated above the roof and is rich in sculptures and inlays, many of which were redone in the 19th century. The statue of the archangel Saint Michael stands out, located at the highest point of the church and reaching 4 meters in height. Legend has it that a huge diamond is set in the ring on the angel’s finger, and in the evening, from a specific point in the square, it is possible to catch a glimpse of its sparkle.
Walking down an alley in front of the church, you find yourself in a small square where there is the birthplace statue of the composer Giacomo Puccini, and nearby is his birthplace, now turned into a museum. A must-visit for music lovers, as here you can understand many inspirations present in his works, as well as see original scores, stage costumes, clothing, and furnishings of the maestro, along with numerous photos and awards he received.

As you can see, Lucca is a truly delightful city that offers unique sights and emotions to those who visit. It should be visited as soon as possible, perhaps during one of these spring weekends.
However, it is necessary to mention the symbol monument of Lucca, the Piazza dell’Anfiteatro is one of the most beautiful in Tuscany, with its circular shape and colorful buildings that overlook it, as well as a must-see destination for those visiting the city of walls.
The stunning square, unique in its kind, is built on the remains of the ancient Roman amphitheater, which was constructed in the 1st or 2nd century A.D. outside the walls of the time, near the north gate, so that it was easily accessible to spectators coming from the surrounding area.
The construction of elliptical shape consisted of two superimposed orders of 55 arches and could hold up to ten thousand people.

