With the completion of the works, the historic monumental park located in the historic center of Mogliano Veneto, designed by the great nineteenth-century landscape architect Antonio Caregaro Negrin (1821-1898), has been requalified and officially reopened to the public in mid-October 2022.
MOGLIANO VENETO (TV). Considered one of the most significant figures in the Italian architectural scene of the late 19th century, with a solid classical education but remarkably open to modern influences, Antonio Caregaro Negrin was a great architect and experimental landscape designer. Through his lectures at academic institutions and national and international artistic congresses, he made a significant contribution to the debate on the evolution of the city, the relationship between art and science, and between garden and landscape.
He is responsible for the design of this Park and the ability to blend in it the features of a classic English garden with the Enlightenment traditions of the formal garden.
The Park was built between 1855 and 1861 as part of the eighteenth-century Villa Seymour (demolished in 1890 to make way for Villa Stucky, currently used as a hotel).
With the redevelopment works, the Longobardi villa, a building from the 1950s unrelated to the original layout of the romantic park, was demolished. It was built by the Longobardi family, who were the exclusive owners of the park until 1997 when the Municipality of Mogliano Veneto purchased it.
At the end of the first excerpt, what was known to most as Villa Longobardi Park finally reopened to the public in October 2022, now bearing a new name: Culture Park – Antonio Caregaro Negrin, honoring both its great designer and the Municipal Administration’s intention to redevelop it as a new site of cultural interest.
The small villa completely altered the delicate landscape context and the perceptive and scaling structure of the entire Park, hence the need to proceed with the main intervention, namely the demolition of villa Longobardi. The foundations, the only remaining structure, have been regenerated into an arena used as a venue for shows and concerts, while the lateral tanks have become large containers for lush vegetation.
In addition to enhancing the existing centuries-old vegetation that allows to identify the areas defined by Negrin, the interventions also focused on the usability of the Park with the restoration of pedestrian paths and the installation of lighting.
The southern area of the Park, designed ex novo by the Studio MADE designers and named “Zona Orti,” constitutes a unique space closely related to the complex, conceived as an open, equipped, multifunctional space intended for children and families. A pavilion, surrounded by perennial, officinal, aromatic, and melliferous plants, provides space for hosting small events, thus actively contributing to the biodiversity of the entire area.
With this project, in October 2022 the “MADE associati architettura e paesaggio” Studio, represented by Architects Michela De Poli and Adriano Marangon, ranked third in the Rigenera Award within the Reggio Emilia Architecture Festival.
The Park of Culture represents a new prestigious space for the Citizens, where they can enjoy moments of art and socializing. It will be a magnificent venue for events, concerts, children’s theater performances, aperitifs, and much more. The Park remained open even during the works of the second section, which involved the creation of a new entrance from Via De Gasperi, the restoration of the caretaker’s house at the entrance, and the securing of the caves and the Belvedere.
This park is one of the 106 interventions on historical parks and gardens funded throughout Italy by the Ministry of Culture with funds from the PNRR, and it is the only one publicly owned in the province of Treviso (for this intervention, the Municipality of Mogliano Veneto obtained an economic contribution of 368,321.03 euros).
The building adjacent to the Library called “South Wing Piranesi” will finally be demolished, opening up a new view of the Park with the boundary and the new access on De Gasperi Street.
